Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Council Approves Appointments to Boards, Commissions and Committees

Fredericton May 25, 2010) – Fredericton City Council today announced mid-term changes to the membership of its boards, commissions and committees. All appointments are effective May 26, 2010 and expire in May 2012

Coun. Mike O’Brien was reappointed Chair of the Finance and Administration Committee.

The Development Committee’s new Chair is Coun. Stephen Chase. Councillor Steven Hicks is the new Chair of the Community Services Committee.

The Public Safety & Environment Committee will be chaired by Coun. Megarity. Coun. Bruce Grandy will Chair of the Transportation Committee.

The Planning & Priorities Committee will be Chaired by Deputy Mayor Dan Keenan and includes all members of City Council.Coun. O’Brien will Chair the Fredericton Superannuation Board.

The Information Technology Committee remains unchanged with Coun. Stephen Kelly as Chair, Coun. McConaghy as Vice-Chair and councillors O’Brien and Megarity as members.

Coun. Chase is the City’s representative to the Union of Municipalities of New Brunswick and Coun. Megarity has been appointed to the Union’s Population Committee.

The Ad Hoc Committee on Immigration will continue to be chaired by Coun. Megarity and Coun. O’Brien is remaining as Chair of the Fredericton Affordable Housing Committee. Coun. O’Brien will be the City’s liaison with Business Fredericton North

Councillor Graham will also co-Chair the Mayor’s Working Committee on Community-University Relations.

Councillor Hicks will Chair the Negotiations Liaison Committee with councillors McConaghy, O’Brien, Whalen and Chase as members. Coun. Chase was also appointed to the Preservation Review Board.

No comments: